Call For Nominations: CSDA Seat A Board Openings

By Kristin Withrow posted 02-22-2021 12:55 PM


Call For Nominations


Deadline: March 29, 2021


The California Special Districts Association Elections and Bylaws Committee is looking for independent special district board members or their general managers who are interested in leading the direction of CSDA for the 2022 - 2024 term.


The leadership of CSDA is elected from its six geographical networks. Each of the six networks has three seats on the board with staggered 3-year terms. Candidates must be affiliated with an independent special district that is a CSDA Regular Member in good standing and located within the geographic network they seek to represent (see the CSDA network map).


The CSDA Board of Directors is the governing body responsible for all policy decisions related to CSDA’s member services, legislative advocacy, education and resources. The CSDA Board of Directors is crucial to the operation of the association and to the representation of the common interests of all California’s special districts before the Legislature and the State Administration.  Serving on the board requires one’s interest in the issues confronting special districts statewide.


Commitment and Expectations:

  • Attend all board meetings, usually 4-5 meetings annually, at the CSDA office in Sacramento.
  • Participate on at least one committee, meets 3-5 times a year at the CSDA office in Sacramento.
    • (CSDA reimburses directors for their related expenses for board and committee meetings as outlined in board policy.)
  • Attend, at minimum, the following CSDA annual events: Special Districts Legislative Days - held in the spring, and the CSDA Annual Conference - held in the summer/fall.
    • (CSDA does not reimburse travel related expenses for the two conferences even if a board or committee meeting is held in conjunction with the event; however, does provide complimentary registration for the two events.)
  • Complete all four modules of CSDA’s Special District Leadership Academy within 2 years of being elected.
    • (CSDA does not reimburse expenses for the academy classes even if a board or committee meeting is held in conjunction with the event.)
  • Complete Annual Chief Executive Officer Evaluation.

Please review the CSDA Board Policy 2.16 Board Commitments & Responsibilities.


Nomination Procedures: Any Regular Member in good standing is eligible to nominate one person, a board member or managerial employee (as defined by that district’s board of directors) for election to the CSDA Board of Directors.  A copy of the member district’s resolution or minute action along with the Candidate Information Sheet must accompany the Nomination Form.

The deadline for receiving nomination applications is March 29, 2021.

Nominations and supporting documentation may be mailed or emailed. 

Mail: 1112 I Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA 95814



Once received, nominees will receive a candidate’s letter. The letter will serve as confirmation that CSDA has received the nomination and will also include campaign guidelines.


CSDA will be using a web-based online voting system, allowing your district to cast your vote easily and securely. Electronic Ballots will be emailed to the main contact in your district May 28, 2021. All votes must be received through the system no later than 5:00 p.m. July 16, 2021.


Districts can opt to cast a paper ballot instead; but you must contact Amber Phelen by e-mail at by March 29, 2021 in order to ensure  you receive a paper ballot on time.


CSDA will mail paper ballots on May 28, 2021 per district request only. ALL ballots must be received by CSDA no later than 5:00 p.m. July 16, 2021.


All selected CSDA Board Members will be introduced at the CSDA Annual Conference and Exhibitor Showcase in Monterey, CA in August 2021.


Expiring Terms

(See geographic network map for network breakdown)

Network Area Seat Incumbent Title District
Northern A Ralph Emerson General Manger Garberville Sanitary District*
Sierra A Noelle Mattock Director El Dorado Hills CSD*
Bay A Chad Davisson General Manager Ironhouse Sanitary District*
Central A Vacant
Coastal A Elaine Magner Director Pleasant Valley RPD*
Southern A Jo MacKenzie Director Vista Irritation District*

(* = Incumbent is running for re-election)