San Diego Chapter of the CSDA

We provide the most relevant government information crucial to all California districts. We strive to make districts stronger together.




Michael Bardin
Santa Fe Irrigation District
5920 Linea del Cielo
PO Box 409
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
Phone: (858) 756-5598

First Vice-President

Jim Peasly
Padre Dam Municipal Water District
PO Box 719003
Santee, CA  92071
Phone: (619) 258-4614

Second Vice-President

Tim Geiser
Deer Springs Fire District
8709 Circle R Drive
Escondido, CA  92026
Phone: (760) 749-8001


Richard Stevenson
Sweetwater Authority
505 Garrett Avenue
Chula Vista, CA  91910-5584
Phone: (619) 409-6711


Diana Towne
Rincon del Diablo Municipal Water District
1920 N Iris Lane
Escondido, CA  92026-1318
Phone: (760) 745-5522

Past President

Kathleen Coates Hedberg
Helix Water District
7811 University Avenue
La Mesa, CA  91942-0427
Phone: (619) 667-6232

State CSDA Director

Jo MacKenzie
Vista Irrigation District
1578 Palomar Drive
San Marcos, CA  92069
Phone: (760) 597-3100

Chapter Administrator

Kim Johnson
Santa Fe Irrigation District
5920 Linea del Cielo
PO Box 409
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
Phone: (858) 756-2424

CSDA Public Affairs Field Coordinator

Chris Palmer
Phone: 714-743-7404

Meeting Schedule:

The San Diego Chapter normally meets the third Thursday of each quarter.

6:00 pm to 9:00 pm – Dinner served at 6:45 p.m.

The Butcher Shop Steakhouse – Kearny Mesa
5255 Kearny Villa Road
San Diego – (858) 565-2272

Cost: $30 per person ($40 non-member)

If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Mike Bardin at (858) 756-5598, or Rich Stevenson at (619) 409-6711,


Chapter Events/Photos

December 11, 2015: “Special district group holding student contest” —  San Diego Union Tribune

— The San Diego Chapter of California Special District Association, which represents more than 40 Special Districts in the county, is holding its first video contest for county middle and high school students.

Prizes will be four cash awards of $1,500, with $750 going to the winning student and another $750 for the school the winning student attends.

The contest is an effort to provide educational outreach and awareness of special districts and their role in local government, according to Helix Water District Board member Kathleen Hedberg, San Diego Chapter past president and chairman of the contest.

The contest will give students an opportunity to create a one-minute Public Service Announcement about special districts, with the theme being “What’s So Special About Special Districts.”

Videos will be judged on creativity, originality, positivity, entertainment value, accuracy of information, value of information and production quality.

Click HERE for additional information.  Submission deadline is March 1, 2016.


August 20, 2015: The Padre Dam Municipal Water District was honored for receiving the “District of Distinction” accreditation from the Special Districts Leadership Foundation.  The District of Distinction program enables districts to demonstrate to their communities, the media, legislators and other stakeholders their commitment to operate in a sound, responsible manner and that they truly stand-out as a district that has gone above and beyond.  This accreditation is designed as a way for districts to highlight their prudent fiscal practices along with other areas important to effectively operate and govern a special district.  Congratulation PDMWD!

The office of Assemblyman Brian Jones honoring the Padre Dam Municipal Water District on receiving the "District of Distinction" accreditation.

The office of Assemblyman Brian Jones honoring the Padre Dam Municipal Water District on receiving the “District of Distinction” accreditation.

May 21, 2015 — The annual Educational Grant Program Recognition Dinner, highlighting award recipients from El Camino Creek Elementary, Hilltop High School, La Costa Heights, Park Dale Lane Elementary School, Rancho Buena Vista High School, and Solana Vista Elementary School. The SDCSDA Chapter awarded over $5000 amongst these schools and the teachers couldn’t have been more proud of their students. Each award recipient made a brief presentation, providing an overview of the success of the program in which they received the CSDA Educational Grant.

SD chapter meeting



San Diego Chapter Newsletters

Chapter Members









Top of Page